the staves // 'good woman'

the staves have shared exciting news of an upcoming album - their first in six years. titled 'good woman', the album will be released on 5 february 2021 via atlantic records, and the band shared the title track earlier this week.

'good woman' was written and recorded during a time of severe turmoil for the band - seeing the end of relationships, the death of their beloved mother and the birth of emily's first child. it stands as a testament to their strength and that of other women.

"it's taken us a long time to get here but we are so excited to announce our new album, 'good woman'." the trio shared.

"we have been working on this for a long time and are thrilled to share the title track with you. when we think about making this album we think about moments and snapshots of all the different contexts we were in as it was made. living in each other's pockets and then living with oceans between us. on voice notes and field recordings and ideas in emails sent across continents. we think of homesickness and family. of being an outsider. of endless notebooks and scraps of paper. of studios in the winter and recordings under the summer sun. of rainy london days and long american nights with coffees and beers, dogs and cats. we think of love. big, big love. our mum. our dad, our friends. and of loss. death and birth. womanhood, motherhood. sisterhood.

and coming home."

listen to 'good woman' here:

good woman tracklist:

  1. good woman

  2. best friend

  3. careful, kid

  4. next year, next time

  5. nothing’s gonna happen

  6. sparks

  7. paralysed

  8. devotion

  9. failure

  10. satisfied

  11. trying

  12. waiting on me to change

follow the staves: